Yet another weekend whizzes by

I think the older I get, the faster time passes. It seems like just yesterday I was up in the UP of Michigan for my grandmother’s funeral – though actually 2 weeks ago. The trip was actually nice – other than the obvious reason for it. My sisters and I got to spend a lot of QT together and it was nice to see lots of relatives I hadn’t seen in over a decade. I am glad we were there for my mom, even though we didn’t spend much time with her – I know she appreciated our effort. And it was an effort – a 3-1/2 hour flight followed by a 5 hour drive! Nothing up there ever seems to change – but that’s really mostly a good thing.

At home, we’ve been watching the Olympics. Michael Phelps is just a swimming machine – amazing! When the relay team beat France it was awesome! Last week I was disappointed that the gymnastics judges gave Shawn Johnson such low scores, but at least she still got the silver medal. I truly think there is a lot of bias against US athletes at the Olympics from international judges and it’s unfortunate.

One thing I really love about the Olympics is that you see sports that you wouldn’t normally see on television. We watched the equestrian jumping this morning, and have also seen men’s field hockey, trampoline, handball, table tennis, badminton and more. Last weekend when water polo was on I used it as a learning opportunity. Justin and I went to Wikipedia and found out that it was first introduced as an Olympic sport in 1900 (men’s). It wasn’t until the 2000 Sydney Olympics that women were allowed to compete.

We are spending a lot of our summer weekends the same way we did last year – in the pool hanging with the neighbors. Last night we were at Todd & Barb’s for a barbecue and it was a lot of fun. Todd’s grandmother was visiting – she’s 82 and sweet as pie. When she met our kids she insisted on giving them hugs! Next Saturday my friend Kathy is having a girls’ night in which I’m looking forward to!

Tomorrow at work I have to give one of the girls a poor review and I’m not looking forward to it. I hate being the bad guy but I guess it’s just part of being a manager. It will make for a very awkward day since she and I sit right next to each other. I have a big meeting coming up in about a month and I’m starting to get nervous about some things. The company that built our registration site is terrible and I’ve had nothing but headaches from them. My biggest fear will be that there will be tons of people who registered, but aren’t accounted for. Oh well, what can one do but just cross fingers and pray that all goes well. I guess time will tell!

1 Response to “Yet another weekend whizzes by”


  1. 1 Deb August 18, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Hi Jen,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother!


Leave a Reply

