American Idol 7 Recap – 4/22 performance

OK, I know this isn’t an entertainment or reality blog, but now that we’re down to six contestants, I have a burning desire to report my feelings about this year’s AI. Terry and anyone else who’s disinterested, please surf away.

This week, we had Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber as the group’s mentor. I am not a huge fan of his works, but I appreciate them for being classics and through the advice he gave the contestants I do believe he is a genius and apparently very down to Earth. Most of these kids were clueless about his compositions (Quoting Jason Castro, “I didn’t know it was sung by a cat.”) I wonder what they have in store for us tonight as his showcase performance? Whatever he might be promoting, I will probably hit the Tivo fast forward.

First up, Syesha with “One Rock and Roll Too Many”. As I stated, I am not familiar with much of ALW’s work, and this song was foreign to me. However, she did a fair job singing (though she clearly missed a few notes) and a fantastic job with theatrical presentation. Easily my fave performance of hers, knowing she is full well near the bottom of my list of performers.

Next we had Jason Castro who sang “Memory”. Simply terrible. The judges were far too nice to him. Had this been the only performance I’d seen of his, I would ask What the heck is he doing in the top six? He is tied with Brooke as the weakest of the performers but will he go home?

Then our local girl (Mesa, AZ) Brooke White performed “You Must Love Me”. OK, I love Brooke, I think she is very talented but I also think she is made for studio recordings and not live performances. She started and stopped, then started again. For this, we can forgive her – if only it had been the FIRST time, which it was not. She hit the notes, she gave an emotional performance but she showed no confidence on stage. This performance made me see her as a vulnerable fawn cowering under a forest tree saying “Please don’t hurt me.” After being second-to-last last week she knows her butt is on the line and it shows.

Our next performer was David Archuleta who seems to have quite a following with women in their mid-40s and 50s from personal observations. He sang “Think of Me” and did quite well with the notes, though he forgot some of the lyrics and repeated one line about a hundred times in a row. This is forgiveable IMO (but won’t be if he does it again, as noted above). When I closed my eyes and really listened, he sounded like Kenny Loggins to me. He is unquestionably talented and a top contender for the #1 spot, and most likely will be in the top 2.

Carly Smithson sang “Jesus Christ Superstar” next, and what a performance. This was the highlight of the night for me and it gave me chills. Her strong voice was well suited for the song, and she made it her own by varying the chorus. I really like Carly and would love to see her excel but don’t think she’s likely to win the #1 spot because rockers never do. If rock has its due this year, then Carly will be the winner of AI (though she is Irish, which is a topic for another post).

Rounding out the night, our other rocker David Cook sang “Music of the Night” from Phantom of the Opera. Throughout the show, I kept wondering, what would my favorite performer sing? Clearly Broadway is not his forte. Au contraire, Mr. Cook proved this a misconception because not only was he able to sing the song, his voice’s ghostly sound actually did the song justice and allowed him to bring his style into it. Surely it was a challenge for him, but he passed with flying colors.

Now all said, tonight’s results show should be an interesting one. I am not one to watch the whole show and torture myself over who is in the bottom three, etc. I simply despise the games that Ryan plays (I’m sure courtesy of the show’s producers who love the dramatic effects). I wll simply fast forward my Tivo and watch the last few minutes to see who is going home.

BUT – it is now the time when surprises are likely to happen. Clearly the bottom two should be Jason and Brooke, but often as we get closer to the end of the season we have a shocker. Remember when Constantine was voted off? Remember when Chris Daughtry left at #4? This could be the night someone “big” goes home so we’ll see.

2 Responses to “American Idol 7 Recap – 4/22 performance”


  1. 1 Deb April 24, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I can NOT believe that Jason made it through at Carly’s expense.

  2. 2 Jen April 24, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Very, very sad. She was the best female singer in the group. Looks like this year’s AI will be male.


Leave a Reply

