Earth Hour

Hmmmm… maybe I’ve been living in the dark (no pun intended) but until just a moment ago I hadn’t heard about this. Earth Hour is an event created by the World Wildlife Fund where people across the globe are committing to turning their lights off between 8pm and 9pm (their local time) this Saturday, March 29th. The goal is to reduce our carbon footprints, if only for an hour, though if you think of it, traveling through 24 times zones, and hour is equal to one day. Heavy, huh?

Anyway, this sounds like a responsible thing to do, and something my kids might remember into their adulthood. Certainly it is raising awareness of the need to conserve and (pardon my gag reflex here) global warming. I wonder how many people in China know about Earth Hour?

I don’t know if I’ll end up doing it – honestly I can’t think of anything I could do that won’t require lights or power. Watch TV – no. Read – no. Play a game with the kids – no. I wonder if my computer battery would last an hour – or my iPod – do those count? I guess not because I’d have to charge and recharge them anyway, right? Geez, this is tougher than Lent!

2 Responses to “Earth Hour”


  1. 1 gogogoallison March 28, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Light a candle and play Scrabble!

  2. 2 Darlene April 5, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Gee Jennifer! That does sound like a great idea. Every night is “Earth Hour” around here. Dave gets a headache if too many lights are on. Even sun light bothers him. I have a 4 watt bulb in a night light on the TV for light for us, every night. I guess we’re conserving power every day.
    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

