Post-birthday, running, lacrosse, Super Bowl Sunday, Phoenix weather report

I hate doing blog “updates” – they seem so droll. I did this – and I did that. Anyway, I haven’t done one in a while so here’s what’s up in our household…

Thanks to everyone who sent birthday wishes! Once you get to be my age, you don’t really like birthdays but it sure beats the alternative. Mine was really nice – I went to see 27 Dresses with my friend Kathy, then got a pedicure. Our family went out to dinner at Rigatony’s which was fabulous. Tomorrow night we’re going out dancing with our neighbors & friends to celebrate. As for the present report – I got a pretty bracelet and some pecans from my sister Allison and some mad money from my mom (which I’ve used toward some camera accessories). Terry and the kids gave me one of those newfangled digital photo frames which I absolutely love. I set it up on the end table in the living room but hopefully soon I will have a desk to place it on.

Last weekend Terry and I ran in the “Run for the Islands 5K” and did pretty well. I beat my time from my last race, but they haven’t posted the actual time yet. I came in at about 35 minutes and Terry and our friend Todd were about a half a minute behind me. I think the reason they were lagging might have something to do with the beers they had the night before maybe? We were just happy we made it to the finish line. I think our next race will be the Pat Tillman Run, which I’ll write about in a future post (it deserves its own).

Eric has his first lacrosse game on Saturday – in Tucson! We’re not looking forward to that drive, but he’s playing on the Varsity team so that’s a good experience for him, considering he’s a freshman! It’s about time he has a game though – he’s been practicing for over three months!

Justin is psyched for the Super Bowl. He’s hoping the Giants will win. The rest of our household is cheering for them as well, but mostly because we just don’t want to see the Patriots get more rings. We decided just to have a low-key family party like last year, when we had tacos and root beer floats, which the kids loved of course. The city is in a frenzy – they are predicting over 600,000 people converging on the valley this weekend! Fortunately the event is on the other side of the city from us, but the FBR Open golf tournament (being held on the same day, as always) is in Scottsdale which is contributing to the crowds.

It’s been freezing here – well, maybe not freezing but it’s been cold! I’ve been wearing sweaters and sweatshirts, and it doesn’t even warm up mid-day with the sun. But I suppose I have no right to complain considering all the horrid weather the Midwest and Northeast are getting. Must be all those Patriots and Giants fans, bringing their frigid climates with them!

2 Responses to “Post-birthday, running, lacrosse, Super Bowl Sunday, Phoenix weather report”


  1. 1 crazin February 1, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I put your gift in the mail last night, so expect it next week. Sorry for the delay!

  2. 2 rustic bedside table July 5, 2014 at 2:06 am

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think of if you added some great photos or videos to give
    your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips,
    this blog could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field.
    Terrific blog!


Leave a Reply

