Devil, thy name is Coors Light

Since befriending our neighbors last year we have become generally more spontaneous when it comes to meals. When my friend Barb phoned at 3:30pm yesterday to “find out how Jen’s interview went and see if she was ready to get her drink on” I quickly responded, “It went well, and HELL YES!” The kids were farmed out til at least 7pm, so we hopped over to Buffalo Wild Wings. With all thoughts of warmed over turkey leftovers escaping our minds, we proceeded to pig out on things like Ultimate Nachos, Queso Dip, Buffalo Chicken Salad and Jerk Chicken Wings. Oh yeah, and beer.

As you might have guessed “Drunk Jen” made an appearance this night. She also proceeded to inform everyone that “Drunk Jen is also Fun Jen” as the beer continued to flow. Fortunately “Plastered, falling-down Jen” never did find a need to arrive, though I think she was dangerously close to joining us. The party of four soon turned into a party of nine as more neighbors joined us and truly it was a lot of fun. Fun until this morning when “Hungover Jen” reared her ugly head. She is still around, though slowly promising a departure, surely before we go to church at 4pm followed by a party I apparently agreed to in my drunken state. Friends are coming over to help us cheer the Giants as they attempt to ruin the contemptable Patriots’ chance at a perfect season. (Sorry Debs) And don’t laugh – stranger things have happened in football, no? Well, one can always hope.

I also seem to remember last night there was some discussion about this blog. Friend Barbara for some reason refuses to visit it, which is OK with me – I mean, it’s here if you want to read it and if not, I still love ya man. But I think part of it is that she doesn’t really realize what the blog is. I summarized it to her as a sort of online diary where I also post recipes, photos and whatever odd thoughts enter my mind. Husband summed it up as “a place where Jen writes about food and how much she drinks.” Hmmmm… that would be an accurate description I suppose, but I would hope it is more than just that!

I also write about traveling. I do. And next week I’m flying to Austin with my little guy to visit my sisters. We are planning on going to First Night Austin and maybe an amusement park, and of course the visit won’t be complete without at least one stop (hopefully more) at my favorite place Culver’s. They truly have the best fast food burger on Earth. Even though their Butter Burger is the famous one, their “regular” burger (especially if it has swiss cheese & mushrooms) is like heaven in your mouth. But you must save room for dessert as the frozen custard puts premium ice cream to shame.

Whoops, there I go talking about food again.

3 Responses to “Devil, thy name is Coors Light”


  1. 1 Debs December 29, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Best. Blog. Ever.

    I laughed out loud and am truly bummed I missed Drunk Jen. Drunk Debs misses Drunk Jen ***SIGH***

  2. 2 crazin December 30, 2007 at 1:18 am

    So, what day do you want Culvers? Here are your flavor of the day choices;
    Raspberry Royale, Butterfinger Pecan, Strawberry Shortcake, Chocolate Paradise and Cookies and Cream. That is everyday you are here except New Years day as they are closed. Of course if those flavors don’t fit your fancy we can go on a road trip to one of the other two Culvers in town, or out to Kerrville where your love affair first began!

  3. 3 dezertprincess December 30, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Ummm… can we go every day?


Leave a Reply

