Bunco, pigging out, football, shopping and a recipe

This weekend, as usual, was a busy one for us. Friday night was spent hanging out with my Bunco girls, then they guys joined us and we just all chatted til midnight. At Bunco we had a gift exchange (or as Terry calls it “Nazi Christmas”) and I was thrilled that I ended up with one of the books on my Amazon wish list – Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert. I heard about this book on the Internet and am looking forward to reading it.

Saturday was spent vegging, doing some light housework and then going to 4pm Mass. Saturday night we had our friend Jim over for dinner because his wife Kathy had a girls-only work party at her house. I made a roast pork loin and it turned out pretty good taste-wise, though maybe a bit dry. I’m always afraid to undercook pork and it’s rare that I get it just right.

This morning we slept in, then hosted the neighborhood for football since we have the Sunday Ticket on DirecTV. Terry won the football pool! I made pulled pork barbecue, which turned out absolutely wonderful. I modified a barbecue sauce recipe I found online which I’ll post below. I made a double batch since I had over 3 lbs. of meat to cook, I’m sure it can easily be modified to serve 1/2 as many. We have a lot left over, but it will not go to waste this week since we’re so busy a family dinner won’t likely happen and leftovers will be a hot commodity.

Christmas shopping is almost all done – just a few miscellaneous gift cards to pick up and I’m set. Eric wants me to take him to the new outdoor mall we have here next weekend so he can get his shopping done. I am NOT looking forward to fighting mall traffic and crowds, especially on the weekend, so we’ll see how that goes. He needs to get a present for his brother and girlfriend.

I hope everyone is staying warm and dry, but I know much of the country is covered in snow. We watched the Bills vs. Browns game and loved seeing the snow-covered field. Now THAT’S football! Of course it was nice not to be experiencing it first hand!

Southern Style Pulled Pork BBQ (Crockpot)

  • 3 lbs. boneless pork ribs 
  • 2 cups ketchup
  • 1/4 cup steak sauce
  • 3 teaspoons garlic salt
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon liquid smoke flavoring
  • 3 teaspoons dried minced onion
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 8 drops hot pepper sauce, or to taste
  • 1/4 cup Jack Daniel’s whiskey
  • Place ribs in crockpot and set at 8 hours on low, or 6 hours on high. Add about 1 1/2 cups water and sprinkle with a bit of salt.

    Make barbecue sauce ahead of time: In large saucepan, combine all ingredients in order, stirring thoroughly after each ingredient. Cook on medium heat 5 minutes or until brown sugar is dissolved in sauce. Transfer to a heatproof bowl, cover, and place in refrigerator.

    One hour before serving time, use a ladle or baster to remove as much liquid from the crock pot as you can. When all liquid has been removed, use two forks to shred pork, removing any fat chunks along the way. Add barbecue sauce and stir until meat and sauce are well combined. Recover crock pot and heat through for the remaining one hour. Serve on fresh sesame rolls.

    2 Responses to “Bunco, pigging out, football, shopping and a recipe”


    1. 1 crazin December 17, 2007 at 7:16 pm

      That’s funny, my friend lent me the book “Eat, Pray, Love” and I am reading it right now! It’s written pretty well, I’m only about half way through it, I only read it a little each night before bed. I would have thought you would have read it already! You got a great gift!

    2. 2 Darden $1000 Gift Card October 22, 2014 at 12:33 pm

      This is the perfect site for anybody who hopes to free amazon gift card codes.
      Great stuff, :-)ust wonderful!


    Leave a Reply

