Holidays, job search and kid stuff

Wow, I can barely believe it’s been a week and a half since we’ve been home from New York. Thanksgiving seemed like a quick blip on the radar on the way to the Christmas season. It’s a shame, too, because the warm sentiments of Thanksgiving should not be stumbled over en route to December 25th. I am truly thankful for everything God has graced me with, especially my family and friends.

That said, I now find myself looking for a new job. It’s not the optimum time for this as you can imagine, and it’s hard to be without a paycheck during December, arguably the most expensive month of the year. But we’ll get through it and hopefully I’ll find work soon. I just hate the job search – the game playing, proving your worth, then dealing with rejection. Yesterday I had a guy give me the typical speech “It was down to you and another candidate, and it was a hard decision. We wish you luck with your search…blah blah blah.” Yep, just another way to say “Too bad you spent 20 bucks in gas, four hours in interviews and countless days preparing, but there was someone else we liked better than you.” Ouch.

I’ll tell you too, there’s nothing fun about being at home. Sure, it’s nice to indulge once in a while (when you’re working), but when the most difficult decision you make all day is whether to watch a trashy reality show, a home improvement project show or a cooking show, well, it gets old. Quick. Still, the day goes by pretty quickly even though I can’t figure out why. Sure, I’ve spent several hours scouring job websites for openings, but there are only so many out there to apply for. I did put the Christmas decorations up on Monday – it took 4 hours, and that was only the interior ones!

One thing that was nice (well, sort of) is that Justin was sick yesterday and I was able to stay home with him all day sans guilt. His body decided to reject his dinner at 2am Monday night, and even though he seemed OK otherwise, it was really a no-brainer keeping him home. Of course, when he asked for a cheeseburger and fries for lunch, I knew he was all right.

The kids had a half day today, and Eric is throwing a fit because I’m “making” him go to lacrosse practice instead of the mall with his gang (including his girlfriend). Teenagers are so much fun – NOT!

0 Responses to “Holidays, job search and kid stuff”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

