WordPress: Awesome or archaic?

You may have heard that those born under the sign of Aquarius – like me – seek change. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ve seen it go from something simple and plain, to something very pink, to something desert-like. I guess maybe I haven’t found its true “identity” yet. I really like the header photo and how it matches the title of the blog, but I don’t like the plain and simple look that WordPress forces me to use with it.

I’ve spent a lot of time surfing, looking for ways to spice up the blog’s look, but haven’t really found a template that I like. It doesn’t help that WordPress – the free edition anyway – forces you to use one of their templates, some of which don’t allow for much personalization.

And don’t even get me going on how they don’t allow anything other than plain HTML widgets for the sidebar. I found a really cool polling site that I couldn’t even use because WordPress blocks the code! They say it’s for “safety”, blocking code that might allow hackers to penetrate the system. Well, if it’s really that much of a concern, why not put something else in place? Do the other blogging services really have such a tough time? Why punish people like me –  literally a kid in an Internet candy store, full of all kinds of gadgets, graphics and  goodies that would make my site a more fun place to visit.

What I do like about WordPress is the ease of use. I like how easy it is to navigate and manage your pages. There is somewhat of a community, though it’s a little hard to get to.

I don’t really want to move my blog again, but I sure wish I had more options here. If you have any ideas for me, please post in the comments – I’d really appreciate it!

0 Responses to “WordPress: Awesome or archaic?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

