Weekend winding down

It is late Sunday afternoon and has been a good weekend so far (which probably won’t change). “Good” meaning not having to work, clean house or be anywhere at any given time.

Friday evening started out with an adjustment from Dr. Miller which included a special wrist snap for rolling well at BUNCO. I guess it worked, because I had the 2nd most wins that night, which netted me one of the $10 prizes, a decorative spice rack. Of course there was more fun in actually playing and interacting with the ladies, especially since it was enhanced with a six pack of Mike’s Hard Light Cranberry Lemonade, only 2 points per bottle. I was especially glad to see our newest player, my friend Dana, enjoy herself despite some mortifying xxx-rated stories from one of the subs. After the game, some of us girls joined the guys at Jim & Kathy’s where the fun continued until after midnight. We just have the BEST friends!

Surprisingly, Saturday started with no hangover, just some dehydration and general feeling of scumminess which was easily washed away in a hot shower. Terry had the unfortunate duty of taking Eric to football practice from 7-9 and after having new tires put on my Santa Fe, I went to Trader Joe’s and picked up some of my favorites – organic apples & bananas, frozen margherita pizzas (which proved to taste incredibly similar to the ones we devoured in Rome), Italian red table wines and the ingredients for my favorite Caprese salad. We went to the 4pm Mass and Terry and I decided to go see The Bourne Ultimatum which was just as good as the first two. Jason Bourne is my hero! And I just love Julia Stiles so it was nice to see her again, though I wish she had more of a role in this movie. Her hair was completely adorable and I think I might go with that look after the summer heat has gone for the year.

I was proud of myself today as I was able to go to the grocery store and return before noon, allowing me to throw the necessary ingredients for chicken & dumplings in the crock pot for dinner. Boy, it sure smells good! I have been using my crock pot for summer dinners more and more often – it’s just so nice not to have to fuss over a stovetop or with an oven. Last week I made Barbecue in it, using bone-in pork ribs that were on sale for $1.99/lb. I simply placed them in the crock pot, added a little water and cooked on low for 7 hours. Then I removed the bones, clear liquids and fat chunks, and broke up the meat. I poured in a bottle of barbecue sauce and continued to cook for one more hour – which produced the most wonderful and tasty barbecue sandwich meat! And the whole dinner (with plenty of leftovers) was under $10.

Tonight’s Chicken & Dumplings started with a couple pounds of boneless chicken breasts, a can of cream of chicken soup, a can of cream of celery soup, cumin, seasoning salt and a finely chopped onion, with chicken broth to cover. Cooked on high three hours, then added a bag of frozen vegetable mix and 1 can of refrigerated biscuit dough, torn to small pieces, cooked 3 more hours and done!  I’ll just serve it with a salad and sliced bread and it’s dinner.

The week ahead will be filled with work and more work, kids’ homework, and the other usual stuff. Friday Terry and I will be presenting Eric with his game jersey for football, followed by a team barbecue party. On Saturday we’re going to the B/S (AC/DC tribute band) concert to see Kevin play and hang out with his wife Kathy and many of our friends & neighbors. I’m looking forward to that, and also catching the Van Halen tribute again too. Oh and how could I forget – the season premiere of Weeds is on tomorrow night. I can’t wait to see whether Nancy, Silas and Shane come away from their perils as posed in the season 2 cliffhanger!

Today I also finished up a book called Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot. It was a cute book, but not as good as anything Sophie Kinsella has done. Maybe because the main character Lizzie is younger – fresh out of college – and I don’t relate to her as much as Kinsella’s Becky (Shopaholic) or Emma (Can You Keep A Secret?) Now I’ve started a book called The Guardians by Ana Castillo. It was given to me for free from Random House – they sent it to me with the only stipulation being that I write a review on LibraryThing and Amazon. Pretty cool, huh?

Speaking of babble, this has been a long post so I’d better sign off now.

0 Responses to “Weekend winding down”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

