Travels, working at home, books

Did ya miss me? I guess you can always tell when I’m busy or traveling due to my lack of blog posts. This week, it was both.

I was in Galveston doing a site visit for a May 2008 meeting. All looks good and I think we will be going to contract with the hotel – Moody Gardens. The place is really nice – great rooms and lots to do right on the hotel grounds. They have an aquarium, rainforest exhibit, IMAX theater, special effects/4D film, manmade beach area (far better and far cleaner than the “real” Galveston beaches) and a brand new Schlitterbahn water park. I will tell you something else Galveston has, especially this time of year – HUMIDITY. I was reminded of those hot, humid summer days growing up in upstate NY when we would break records. Add about 10 degrees to that. Needless to say, I’m glad to be home. The flight was a nighmare – try sitting in the back of the plane outside a restroom that decides it wants to spew raw sewage odors for a 2 hour 20 minute flight.

So tonight I’m enjoying a quiet evening at home while Terry’s out at the baseball game with a friend. Tomorrow night we’re going to play euchre at a friend’s house but no other major plans for this weekend. Oh yeah, except for work. I have to make up for being out and having limited Internet access. At least I can pick my hours and even work poolside if I want. Ah, the miracles of modern technology.

Last weekend I took the kids to see Shrek the 3rd – it was cute, but we enjoyed Transformers (all of us went on Sunday) much more. The special effects were awesome, and although it was a bit juvenile in some places, it was a good story which kept us on the edges of our seats.

Last week I read The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, a book that I highly recommend. It’s a touching story and very well-written, though it is not exactly “light reading.” It’s about a man who grew up in Afghanistan, then when in his late teens moved to the USA with his traditionalist father. Usually when I’m done reading a heavy hitter like that one, I like to follow with something light, so this week I chose the fourth Shopaholic book, Shopaholic and Sister by Sophie Kinsella. It was a really cute story and I enjoyed reading about Becky Bloomwood-Brandon again – now I have to finish up the series with her fifth and final (as of yet) Shopaholic and Baby.

On another subject, Eric thinks he’s found a place that might hire him. Dairy Queen apparently will take applications from kids about his age, so we picked up an app tonight and will be returning it tomorrow. Gotta love him – he’s anxious to make some money of his own instead of relying on me for allowance. I don’t have the heart to tell him about all the taxes that will be taken out of his check on a regular basis. Ah well, life is full of disappointments – maybe I’ll let him figure this one out on his own.

0 Responses to “Travels, working at home, books”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

