Lazy summer Sunday

Hot – hot – hot! That’s the best way to describe life in Phoenix right now. Yesterday we went to Jim & Kathy’s for a little get-together. They had guests in from back home (they are from Buffalo) and we had fun hanging out with them and some of our neighbors. Surprisingly, once the sun went down it was not really that hot. I didn’t even get in the pool, and never broke a sweat. Kathy made beef on weck and we all brought side dishes. Her cousin Kathy S. brought her signature Chicken Wing Dip which is to die for. I ate way too much of it.

Today is just R&R – Justin has some buddies over and they’re playing their usual video games. Too hot to play outside, though they were in the pool a little while ago. Eric hasn’t been feeling well – he’s got a cold. There’s nothing worse than to have a stuffy nose in the summertime, especially when it’s so brutally hot.

Earlier today I made a short trip to Tempe to check out our local Whole Foods store.  I’ve been to the authentic one in Austin and found ours to be a micro-version of it. Although I was successful in finding one specialty item I haven’t seen elsewhere in Phoenix – Salt Lick Barbecue Sauce – there really wasn’t anything else I couldn’t have found at the Sunflower Market only 1/2 mile from my house. I’m glad I checked it out though, because now tonight’s barbecue ribs will have real Texas flavor!

Tomorrow it’s back to work :( and Tuesday more of the same, then I’m out of the office until Friday the 13th. I have vacation days at the end of this week, and traveling out of town for a site visit next week. I’m hoping to do the “carry-on only” thing for this trip so we’ll see how that goes. I haven’t attempted this since the new liquid restrictions went into place.

Hmmmm… I think I’m going to go for a dip in the pool and start a new book while floating on my raft til dinner is ready (I put the ribs in the crock pot this morning). I just love summertime! Here’s the recipe for Chicken Wing Dip – serve it with Wheat Thins, carrot sticks and/or celery sticks.

0 Responses to “Lazy summer Sunday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

