work – rest – play = exhaustion

I’ve been in Spokane, Washington for the past several days, working on a meeting with my associate Rochelle. She is the lead planner and I’m the support, and I’ve found it’s a blessing and a curse to be the support instead of the lead, which is what I’m used to. On the one hand, I don’t have the greater level of responsibility, but on the other hand, when she doesn’t plan something as I would have, I have to deal with the consequences. It has been a humbling experience for me. However over all the meeting went well.

This afternoon was the end of the program so Rochelle and I went out with our two District Managers (internal clients) LaVerne and Lori. We went to Cour d’Alene only 20 miles away, to a place called “The Wine Cellar”. Italian food with an extensive wine list. Dinner was excellent and the ocmpany was also fun. Some of the people I work with are such fun, funny and good-natured folks, I am very fortunate. We had a great time and now I am exhausted. I can’t wait to return home tomorrow.

Our friends Todd & Barb are having a Cinco de Mayo (aka Cinco de Drinko) party. Cinco de Mayo is similar to what we in New York celebrated as St. Patrick’s Day – not much more than an excuse to drink and act stupid. I myself am looking forward to the drinking and acting stupid as I have been working very hard and need a break. I will be leaving for Orlando in just over a week, for another meeting which I am the lead on. The meeting should be very good, but I will be glad when it’s over since I’ve been on the road quite a bit this spring.

One perk to travel is that I’m rapidly approaching Silver status with the USAir frequent flyer program. Unfortunately they make it very difficult to cash in your points – even though I have over 150,000 miles with them, to find a ticket I can actually use is next to impossible. Getting an upgrade would be miraculous! I think I liked them better when they were America West and I was a bigger fish in a smaller pond.

Must get sleep – travel early tomorrow dictates my alarm clock be set at 4:40am. Hopefully there won’t be any smelly people on the plane next to me and I’ll be able to nap properly. Ah, the joys of public transportation!

0 Responses to “work – rest – play = exhaustion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

