Rome – Day 1/Arrival Day

I made it! I’m in Italy! It’s been a year since I’ve traveled abroad and I had nearly forgotten how much I hate transatlantic flights. The food was terrible, I got two 45-minute naps max and the person sitting next to me reaked of B.O. Then when I finally arrived in Rome and got to the hotel, I met several of my business associates – who now have their first impression of me being a smelly, greasy-haired, makeupless woman in glasses. With bags under her eyes. Oh well…

One thing that was a plus is that even in the year since I’ve traveled overseas, technology has improved quite a bit. Now you can actually select your own movies and TV shows, and even listed to entire CDs at will. You can pause and rewind too – very handy for those bathroom trips. Also if you have the right adapter you can plug your laptop (or DVD player, iPod etc.) right into the seat and not eat up the battery. Unfortunately the food still sucks and the seats are still cramped. I am not happy that US Air makes it virtually impossible to use your Frequent Flyer miles to upgrade. Shame!

I also read an entire novel on the trip – Sophie Kinsella’s Confessions of a Shopaholic. It was really good – much like Bridget Jones’ Diary. I recommend it to anyone looking for chick-lit. There are at least four sequels so I’ve got my next few books already picked out.

As we flew over the Italian countryside just before landing in Rome, I thought it was so charming! Mountains dotted with trees and rolling green hills with scattered villas and villages. There seems to be a nice beach nearby too, though it is much too cold to swim. The roads winding through the hills reminded me of something you’d see in a car commercial – “squiggly” is the only way I could think of to describe it.

Driving through the city on our way to the hotel was interesting – apparently cab drivers are insane in Italy, much like the rest of the world. The only thing is, it seems the other drivers are just as crazy. And with streets so narrow, you would never think a car would fit – but I guess maybe if you do it every day it’s not a big deal.

Television is nothing fun either – only BBC News and SKYNews in English, and these of course with a British accent. I don’t really watch much TV on the road but I like to have it in the background and I’m sick of hearing the story about the police officer using “extreme violence” on a disorderly drunk female teen. I guess this type of controversy is universal.

Tomorrow will be a fun (but long) day. I am going with my travel contact Massimo to see our two dinner venues. Our gala dinner is at a place called Villa Miani which according to Todd is beautiful and has stunning views (note to self- don’t forget camera!). Then we’ll have lunch at Tre Scalini restaurant where we are having a small private dinner. Speaking of dinner, I’d better order mine soon – my schedule is all messed up and they don’t start dinner here until 7.00pm!

Well time to get back to work. I still have to print and assemble some name badges and get the envelopes down to the front desk before tomorrow morning’s arrivals. Ciao! Ciao!

ps- if you’re reading this, please comment and let me know – grazie! :)

2 Responses to “Rome – Day 1/Arrival Day”


  1. 1 gogogoallison March 8, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I feel your pain. I remember traveling to Europe. I made a mental note of where the barf bag was after looking at the “breakfast” they served on the plane. We were fortunate to have private movies and tv shows at our seats even back then. That sure helped pass the time. Have a great time! Can you bring back a meal for me?

  2. 2 zziipp March 10, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    I know exactly what you mean about the crazy cab ride! When I was there the cab driver must have thought he was was King of the World and everyone would yield to him, even those who couldn’t see us. Worst cab ride ever. I’m sure you’re enjoying the food though. I’m jealous – I’ve been eating in the galley for the past 3 weeks. I miss the pastries, gelatto, wine, bruschetta, fettuccini…. Have fun! -Damian


Leave a Reply

