Weekend went by too, too fast!

We had another action-packed weekend and I can’t believe it’s over already. Friday night we actually enjoyed doing… NOTHING! It’s been a long time since we’ve had that luxury, and it will be a long time until we do again :)  Eric did go to a boy-girl party for one of his classmates’ birthdays. When I picked him up I met some of the kids who seem nice – let me tell you though, 14-year-old girls sure don’t look like they did when I was their age. At least, not that I recall. He said he had a really good time.Saturday began with Eric’s lacrosse game. The team played pretty well, though they still lost. For the most part they “brought their game” which isn’t always the case. They are a young and inexperienced team (most are 6th graders and most have never played before) and the team they played was in their second year together. After the game we gathered at a nearby park for a family picnic with Eric’s teammates and enjoyed a cookout and good times. The boys all played football and Eric enjoyed the tackling – he was an unstoppable defensive player for his team. Justin played with the big kids too, and scored two touchdowns against them!

Saturday afternoon was spent doing chores and we relaxed again Saturday night. It felt so good! This morning (Sunday) we went to church and then more chores. Justin used his saved-up allowance money to buy himself an iPod Shuffle which he loves tremendously. I helped him put some songs on it and he’s been listening to it most of the night. Terry and I are watching the Oscars and taking note of the movies we want to see.

Tomorrow it’s back to work. I’ve got a busy week ahead as I have to get a registration site up for my Orlando meeting, work on some details for the Rome one, and catch up on a few things I’m behind on for my Kerrville meeting. I can’t believe I leave for Italy in 10 days! I feel like I’m not ready for the meeting, and not ready for the trip. I know it will all come together in the end but I’m getting really stressed out.

Terry’s parents are coming on Wednesday evening and it will be nice to have them around. They are going to watch the kids while we are gone, but we won’t get to spend  much time with them because only a few days after we return, they will begin to make their way to California to see Terry’s brother.

Tonight for dinner I made something I got an idea for on FoodTV – Fajitas in the Slow Cooker – I took a package of frozen tri-colored peppers (of course you can use fresh ones), sliced an onion and put them all in the bottom of my crock pot. Topped it with 2 lbs. of sliced beef and a packet of Fajita seasoning. Poured in about a cup of beer and cooked on low for about 6 hours. Served it with heated corn tortillas and we had a make-your-own fajita night! I had sour cream, shredded cheese, taco sauce and refried beans on hand. Everyone really loved them and they were really easy to make. I might repeat them when we go to our friends Barb & Todd’s Cinco de Mayo party in May.

How do you like the new blog site? Please leave a comment and let me know you visited. Thank you!

0 Responses to “Weekend went by too, too fast!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

