Friday ramblings….

Well another work week has come & gone. Is it me, or does time move faster the older you get? I tell ya, there’s another thing that happens the older you get – sore joints! I have to make a mental note to be easier on my knees and ankles when I’m running. I never thought I’d be a runner but I’m really enjoying it and I guess every time I do it I feel a little better about it. BUT I’m no spring chicken and I’m starting to feel the pain.

This weekend we have the usual stuff going on. Tonight I have BUNCO with the ladies and our guys are getting together to hang out next door. Justin’s game is at 12:30 tomorrow and Eric’s is at 5pm. Eric can’t play but he will be there to cheer his team and help out on the sidelines however he can. He was disappointed (and so was I) when the doctor said he couldn’t play with a cast – he’s out for a minimum of three weeks! But at least that only means two games since Thanksgiving weekend they all have off.

Saturday night we will be going to visit our friends Chad & Dana who just had a baby about two weeks ago – on Ethan’s birthday. Sunday will be church and football and taking it easy. I have a few things to do around the house (dare I say “clean”?) so I guess it’s pretty much low key.

Anyone catch The Office last night? I’m excited that Jim’s coming back to Scranton and it should be interesting to watch the dynamics between the love triangles – Karen-Jim-Pam and Michael-Jim-Dwight. Hey, who wouldn’t love Jim? And not only will next week’s episode have an extra 10 minutes, but they announced that 30 Rock will now be on Thursday too! Gotta love NBC Thursdays!

Here’s a fabulous recipe I’m going to try for Thanksgiving – saw it on Paula Deen’s show yesterday and it sounds like a great alternative to pumpkin pie:

Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle
Recipe courtesy Paula Deen

Ingredients
2 (14-ounce) packages gingerbread mix
1 (5.1-ounce) package cook-and-serve vanilla pudding mix
1 (30-ounce) can pumpkin pie filling
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 teaspoon ground cardamom or cinnamon
1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping (I’m going to add cinnamon to mine)
1/2 cup gingersnaps, optional

Instructions
Bake the gingerbread according to the package directions; cool completely. Meanwhile, prepare the pudding and set aside to cool. Stir the pumpkin pie filling, sugar, and cardamom into the pudding. Crumble 1 batch of gingerbread into the bottom of a large, pretty bowl. Pour 1/2 of the pudding mixture over the gingerbread, then add a layer of whipped topping. Repeat with the remaining gingerbread, pudding, and whipped topping. Sprinkle of the top with crushed gingersnaps, if desired. Refrigerate overnight. Trifle can be layered in a punch bowl.

0 Responses to “Friday ramblings….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

